2016 Award Winners
This is the "2011 Award Winners" page of the "Coretta Scott King Award" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Coretta Scott King Award   Tags: award winning books, children's literature, coretta scott king award  

Corretta Scott King Award Winning Books and Authors
Last Updated: Feb 27, 2017 URL: http://libguides.opsu.edu/content.php?pid=327937 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

2011 Award Winners Print Page

2011 Award Winners

Author Award Winner

  • Rita Williams-Garcia, author of One Crazy Summer (Amistad, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers)

Illustrator Award Winner

  • Bryan Collier, illustrator of Dave the Potter: Artist, Poet, Slave, written by Laban Carrick Hill (Little, Brown and Company, a division of Hachette Book Group, Inc.)  

Author Honor

  • Walter Dean Myers, author of Lockdown (Amistad, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers)
  • Jewell Parker Rhodes, author of Ninth Ward (Little, Brown and Company, a division of Hachette Book Group, Inc.)
  • G. Neri, author of Yummy: The Last Days of a Southside Shorty, illustrated by Randy DuBurke (Lee & Low Books, Inc.)

Illustrator Honor

  • Javaka Steptoe, author of Jimi: Sounds Like a Rainbow: A Story of the Young Jimi Hendrix, written by Gary Golio (Clarion Books, an imprint of Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Publishing Company)

John Steptoe Award for New Talent

  • Victoria Bond and T. R. Simon, authors of Zora and Me (Candlewick Press)
  • Sonia Lynn Sadler, illustrator of Seeds of Change, written by Jen Cullerton Johnson (Lee & Low Books, Inc.)

Coretta Scott King - Virginia Hamilton Award for Lifetime Achievement

  • Dr. Henrietta Mays Smith, professor emerita at the University of South Florida, Tampa, School of Library and Information Science  

Loading  Loading...