2016 Award Winners
This is the "2005 Award Winners" page of the "Coretta Scott King Award" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Coretta Scott King Award   Tags: award winning books, children's literature, coretta scott king award  

Corretta Scott King Award Winning Books and Authors
Last Updated: Feb 27, 2017 URL: http://libguides.opsu.edu/content.php?pid=327937 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

2005 Award Winners Print Page

2005 Award Winners

Author Award Winner

  • Toni Morrison, author of Remember: The Journey to School Integration (Houghton Mifflin)

Illustrator Award Winner

  • Kadir A. Nelson, illustrator of Ellington Was Not a Street, written by Ntozake Shange (Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers)

Author Honor

  • Shelia P. Moses, author of The Legend of Buddy Bush (Margaret K. McElderry Books, an imprint of Simon & Schuster)
  • Sharon G. Flake, author of Who Am I without Him?: Short Stories about Girls and the Boys in Their Lives (Jump at the Sun/Hyperion Books for Children)
  • Marilyn Nelson, author of Fortune’s Bones: The Manumission Requiem (Front Street)

Illustrator Honor

  • Jerry Pinkney, illustrator of God Bless the Child, text by Billie Holiday and Arthur Herzog Jr. (Amistad, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers)
  • Leo and Diane Dillon, illustrators of The People Could Fly: The Picture Book, written by Virginia Hamilton (Alfred A. Knopf, an imprint of Random House Children's)

John Steptoe Award for New Talent

  • Barbara Hathaway, author of  Missy Violet and Me (Houghton Mifflin)
  • Frank Morrison, illustrator of Jazzy Miz Mozetta, written by Brenda C. Roberts (Farrar Straus Giroux)

Loading  Loading...