2016 Award Winners
This is the "2002 Award Winners" page of the "Coretta Scott King Award" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Coretta Scott King Award   Tags: award winning books, children's literature, coretta scott king award  

Corretta Scott King Award Winning Books and Authors
Last Updated: Feb 27, 2017 URL: http://libguides.opsu.edu/content.php?pid=327937 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

2002 Award Winners Print Page

2002 Award Winners

Author Award Winner

  • Mildred Taylor, author of The Land (Phyllis Fogelman Books/Penguin Putnam)

Illustrator Award Winner

  • Jerry Pinkney, illustrator of Goin’ Someplace Special, written by Patricia McKissack (Anne Schwartz Book/Atheneum)

Author Honor 

  • Sharon G. Flake, author of Money-Hungry (Jump at the Sun/Hyperion)
  • Marilyn Nelson, author of Carver: A Life in Poems (Front Street)

Illustrator Honor  

  • Bryan Collier, illustrator of Martin’s Big Words, written Doreen Rappoport (Jump at the Sun/Hyperion)

John Steptoe Award for New Talent

  • Jerome Lagarrigue, illustrator of Freedom Summer, written by Deborah Wiles (Atheneum Books for Young Readers)

Loading  Loading...