2016 Award Winners
This is the "1993 Award Winners" page of the "Coretta Scott King Award" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Coretta Scott King Award   Tags: award winning books, children's literature, coretta scott king award  

Corretta Scott King Award Winning Books and Authors
Last Updated: Feb 27, 2017 URL: http://libguides.opsu.edu/content.php?pid=327937 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

1993 Award Winners Print Page

1993 Award Winners

Author Award Winner

  • Patricia C. McKissack, author of The Dark-Thirty: Southern Tales of the Supernatural, illustrated by Brian Pinkney (Knopf)

Illustrator Award Winner

  • Kathleen Atkins Wilson, illustrator of The Origin of Life on Earth: An African Creation Myth, retold by David A. Anderson/SANKOFA (Sights)

Author Honor 

  • Mildred Pitts Walter, author of Mississippi Challenge (Bradbury)
  • Patricia C. & Frederick L. McKissack, authors of Sojourner Truth: Ain’t I a Woman? (Scholastic)
  • Walter Dean Myers, author of Somewhere in the Darkness (Scholastic)

Illustrator Honor 

  • Wil Clay, illustrator of Little Eight John, written by Jan Wahl (Lodestar)
  • Brian Pinkney, illustrator of Sukey and the Mermaid, written by Robert San Souci (Four Winds)
  • Carole Byard, illustrator of Working Cotton, written by Sherley Anne Williams (Harcourt)

Loading  Loading...