2016 Award Winners
This is the "1999 Award Winners" page of the "Coretta Scott King Award" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Coretta Scott King Award   Tags: award winning books, children's literature, coretta scott king award  

Corretta Scott King Award Winning Books and Authors
Last Updated: Feb 27, 2017 URL: http://libguides.opsu.edu/content.php?pid=327937 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

1999 Award Winners Print Page

1999 Award Winners

Author Award Winner

  • Angela Johnson, author of Heaven (Simon & Schuster)

Illustrator Award Winner

  • Michele Wood, illustrator of I See the Rhythm, written by Toyomi Igus (Children’s Book Press)

Author Honor 

  • Nikki Grimes, author of Jazmin’s Notebook (Dial Books)
  • Joyce Hansen and Gary McGowan, authors of Breaking Ground, Breaking Silence: The Story of New York’s African Burial Ground (Henry Holt and Company)
  • Angela Johnson, author of The Other Side: Shorter Poems (Orchard Books)

Illustrator Honor

  • Floyd Cooper, illustrator of I Have Heard of a Land, written by Joyce Carol Thomas (Joanna Cotler Books/HarperCollins)
  • E. B. Lewis, illustrator of The Bat Boy and His Violin, written by Gavin Curtis (Simon & Schuster)
  • Brian Pinkney, illustrator of Duke Ellington: The Piano Prince and His Orchestra, written by Andrea Davis Pinkney (Hyperion Books for Children)

John Steptoe Award for New Talent

  • Sharon Flake, author of The Skin I'm In (Jump at the Sun/Hyperion)
  • Eric Velasquez, illustrator of The Piano Man, written by Debbie Chocolate (Walker Books for Young Readers)

Loading  Loading...