2016 Award Winners
This is the "1997 Award Winners" page of the "Coretta Scott King Award" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Coretta Scott King Award   Tags: award winning books, children's literature, coretta scott king award  

Corretta Scott King Award Winning Books and Authors
Last Updated: Feb 27, 2017 URL: http://libguides.opsu.edu/content.php?pid=327937 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

1997 Award Winners Print Page

1997 Award Winners

Author Award Winner

  • Walter Dean Myers, author of Slam (Scholastic)

Illustrator Award Winner

  • Jerry Pinkney, illustrator of Minty: A Story of Young Harriet Tubman, written by Alan Schroeder (Dial Books for Young Readers)

Author Honor

  • Patricia C. & Frederick L. McKissack, authors of Rebels Against Slavery: American Slave Revolts (Scholastic)

Illustrator Honor

  • R. Gregory Christie, illustrator of The Palm of My Heart: Poetry by African American Children, edited by Davida Adedjouma (Lee & Low Books Inc.)
  • Reynold Ruffins, illustrator of Running the Road to ABC, written by Denize Lauture (Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers)
  • Synthia Saint James, illustrator of Neeny Coming, Neeny Going, written by Karen English (BridgeWater Books)

John Steptoe Award for New Talent

  •  Martha Southgate, author of Another Way to Dance (Delacorte)

Loading  Loading...