2016 Award Winners
This is the "1995 Award Winners" page of the "Coretta Scott King Award" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Coretta Scott King Award   Tags: award winning books, children's literature, coretta scott king award  

Corretta Scott King Award Winning Books and Authors
Last Updated: Feb 27, 2017 URL: http://libguides.opsu.edu/content.php?pid=327937 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

1995 Award Winners Print Page

1995 Award Winners

Author Award Winner

  • Patricia C. & Frederick L. McKissack, authors of Christmas in the Big House, Christmas in the Quarters (Scholastic)

Illustrator Award Winner

  • James Ransome, illustrator of The Creation, text by James Weldon Johnson (Holiday House)

Author Honor  

  • Joyce Hansen, author of The Captive (Scholastic)
  • Jacqueline Woodson, author of I Hadn’t Meant to Tell You This (Delacorte)
  • Patricia C. & Frederick L. McKissack , authors of Black Diamond: Story of the Negro Baseball League (Scholastic)

Illustrator Honor 

  • Terea Shaffer, illustrator of The Singing Man, written by Angela Shelf Medearis (Holiday House)
  • Floyd Cooper, illustrator of Meet Danitra Brown, written by Nikki Grimes (Lothrop, Lee & Shepard)
John Steptoe Award for New Talent (inaugural year)
  • Sharon Draper, author of Tears of a Tiger (Simon & Schuster)

Loading  Loading...