This is the "Books in the Library" page of the "Fairytales/Folktales" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Fairytales/Folktales  

Last Updated: Jun 1, 2017 URL: http://libguides.opsu.edu/fairytales Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Books in the Library Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Arabian Folklore

Cover Art
Abu Jmeel's Daughter and Other Stories - Jamal Sleem Nuweihed (Compiled by, Retold by); Salma K. Jayyusi (Editor); C. Tingley (Translator)
ISBN: 1566564182
Publication Date: 2004-09-01
Part of a series, which includes tales that represent the oral literature from cultures whose legends, myths, and folklore, this volume includes 20 to 30 tales, accompanied by an introduction and a historical overview which give reader insights into culture, folk literature, and lives of the people in the region.

Cover Art
Arab Folktales - Inea Bushnaq
ISBN: 0394501047
Publication Date: 1986-03-12

Cover Art
Arabian Nights Entertainments - Andrew Lang
ISBN: 9786050314106
Publication Date: 1939


 

European Folklore

Cover Art
Eighty Fairy Tales - Hans Christian Andersen; R. P. Keigwin (Translator); Elias Bredsdorff (Introduction by); Vilhelm Pedersen (Illustrator); Lorenz Frolich (Illustrator)
ISBN: 039452523X
Publication Date: 1982-08-12
Includes the well-known tales as well as less familiar ones such as The Gardener and the Squire, The Story of a Mother, In a Thousand Years Time, and The Shadow.


Cover Art
Fairytale in the Ancient World - Graham Anderson
ISBN: 0415237033
Publication Date: 2000-09-19
Did the familiar children's fairytales of today exist in the ancient world? If so, what did they look like in a world whose societies were often so alien in outlook to our own? Could fairytales have existed in a world without society and balls and glass slippers, or are they an invention of storytellers not much earlier than the European Renaissance? And could they have served the same social purposes as the fairytale of today? Graham Anderson examines texts from the classical period which resemble our Cinderellas, Snow Whites, Red Riding Hoods, Bluebeards and others, and argues that many familiar fairytales were already well known in antiquity in some form, but are often now to be found in the least accessible corners of classical literature. Examples include a Jewish Egyptian Cinderella, complete with ashes, whose prince is the biblical Joseph; a Snow White whose enemy is the goddess Artemis; and a Pied Piper at Troy, with King Priam in the role of the little boy who got away.

Cover Art
Folktales of the British Isles - Kevin Crossley-Holland
ISBN: 039456328X
Publication Date: 1988-01-12

Cover Art
Heroes of the Dawn - Time-Life Books Editors
ISBN: 0705421716
Publication Date: 1999-06-01
This is just one volume in a new series called Myth & Mankind, a a culture-by-culture examination of world myth & its historical roots. Whether exploring the myths of India, Egypt, Tibet or Greece, each book brings an ancient culture to life.


Cover Art
Irish Folktales - Henry H. Glassie
ISBN: 0394532244
Publication Date: 1985-10-12
A collection of over 100 tales that contain all of the major themes, situations, and characters in Irish folklore.

Cover Art
Irish Tales of the Supernatural - Mairtin O'Griofa (Editor)
ISBN: 0806959614
Publication Date: 1996-06-01
A drunken Irishman helps the tormented dead escape from purgatory; religious statues come to life in the churchyard; and a hideous ghost devours her live husband. These are just some of the incredible and ghoulish Irish tales included in this collection.

Cover Art
Italian Folktales - Italo Calvino; George Martin (Translator)
ISBN: 039474909X
Publication Date: 1981-08-12



Cover Art
Norwegian Folktales - Peter Christen Asbjørnsen; Jorgen Moe
ISBN: 0394710541
Publication Date: 1982-08-12
Long a treasure in Norway, the folktales collected by Peter Christen AsbjOrnsen and JOrgen Moe have been acclaimed for their richness of humor, fullness of life, and depth of understanding since they first appeared in translation more than a hundred years ago. The Norwegian folktales, said Jacob Grimm, "surpass nearly all others." Within these captivating tales we meet witches, trolls, and ogres; sly foxes and great, mysterious bears; beautiful princesses and country-lads-turned-heroes. Collected here in a sparkling contemporary translation by Pat Shaw Iversen and Carl Norman, these tales brim with the matchless vitality and power of their original telling. Included also are the wonderfully evocative original illustrations of Erik Werenskiold and Theodor Kittelsen. With black-and-white drawings throughout Part of the Pantheon Fairy Tale and Folklore Library

Cover Art
Russian Fairy Tales - Aleksandr Afanas'ev
ISBN: 0394730909
Publication Date: 1976-09-12
Translated by Norbert Guterman A beautiful new paperback edition of a book that has been a perennial favourite for over 50 years - the most comprehensive collection of classic Russian fairy tales available in English. In more than 175 immortal stories, readers encounter thieves and kings; heroes and peasants; terrifying witches and beautiful damsels; enchanting children and crafty animals. Included are the unique Russian characters of Koschey the Deathless, Baba Yaga and the Swan Maiden. A rich robust world of imagination for all ages.


Cover Art
Victorian Fairy Tales - Jack D. Zipes (Editor)
ISBN: 0415901405
Publication Date: 1989-01-11

 

Folklore Collections

Cover Art
Favorite Folktales from Around the World - Jane Yolen
ISBN: 0394543823
Publication Date: 1986-10-12
This collection of 160 tales represents such diverse stories as American Indian legends and others from the Brothers Grimm.


Cover Art
Great Fairy Tale Tradition - Jack Zipes
ISBN: 039397636X
Publication Date: 2000-11-02
"Criticism" includes seven important assessments of different aspects of the fairy tale tradition, written by W. G. Waters, Benedetto Croce, Lewis Seifert, Patricia Hannon, Harry Velten, Siegfried Neumann, and Jack Zipes Brief biographies of the storytellers and a Selected Bibliography are included.

Cover Art
When Dreams Came True - Jack Zipes
ISBN: 0415980070
Publication Date: 2007-04-16
For centuries fairy tales have been a powerful mode of passing cultural values onto our children, and for many these stories delight and haunt us from cradle to grave. But how have these stories become so powerful and why? In When Dreams Came True, Jack Zipes explains the social life of the fairy tale, from the sixteenth century on into the twenty-first. Whether exploring Charles Perrault or the Brothers Grimm, Hans Christian Andersen or The Thousand and One Nights, The Happy Prince or Pinocchio, L. Frank Baum or Hermann Hesse, Zipes shows how the authors of our beloved fairy tales used the genre to articulate personal desires, political views, and aesthetic preferences within particular social contexts. Above all, he demonstrates the role that the fairy tale has assumed in the civilizing process--the way it imparts values, norms, and aesthetic taste to children and adults. This second edition of one of Jack Zipes's best-loved books includes a new preface and two new chapters on J.M. Barrie's Peter Pan and E.T.A. Hoffman's The Nutcracker and the Mouse King.

Cover Art
World myths and folk tales - Holt, Rinehart and Winston Staff
ISBN: 0030675421
Publication Date: 2002-11-01

 

African Folklore


Cover Art
African Folktales - Roger D. Abrahams (Editor)
ISBN: 0394502361
Publication Date: 1983-08-01


Cover Art
Drunken King, or, the Origin of the State - Luc De Heusch; Roy Willis (Translator)
ISBN: 0253318327
Publication Date: 1982-07-22
"... de Heusch has achieved a significant advance over Lévi-Strauss's formulations.... [A] landmark contribution to anthropological theory, historical methodology, structural analysis, and African studies." --Choice A major work that modifies and extends Lévi-Straussian myth analysis in profound and exciting ways. Roy Willis's masterful translation makes technical terms accessible to the general reader.

 

American Folklore

Cover Art
Afro-American Folktales - Roger D. Abrahams
ISBN: 0394728858
Publication Date: 1985-03-12
This addition to the Pantheon Fairy Tale and Folklore Library completes Roger Abrahams's masterful survey of taletelling in the black world by showing the vital forms African stories took as they entered the New World. These 107 tales come from the canefields of the antebellum South, the villages of Caribbean islands, and the streets of contemporary Philadelphia. Throbbing with life, they range from earthy comedy (in recounting the scandalous doings of tricksters Rabbit and Fox) to inventive "just-so" stories explaining why the world is the way it is, to moral fables about encounters between masters and slaves, kings and servants, black and white. Together, they robustly demonstrate the ways an uprooted people have drawn from the traditions of their past to fashion a life -- and with it, a whole new and vital culture -- in the New World.


Cover Art
American Folktales - Carl Lindahl; Peggy A. Bulger (Foreword by)
ISBN: 0765680629
Publication Date: 2003-12-31
This two-volume collection of folktales represents some of the finest examples of American oral tradition. Drawn from the largest archive of American folk culture, the American Folklife Center at the Library of Congress, this set comprises magic tales, legends, jokes, tall tales and personal narratives, many of which have never been transcribed before, much less published, in a sweeping survey. Eminent folklorist and award-winning author Carl Lindahl selected and transcribed over 200 recording sessions - many from the 1920s and 1930s - that span the 20th century, including recent material drawn from the September 11 Project. Included in this varied collection are over 200 tales organized in chapters by storyteller, tale type or region, and representing diverse American cultures, from Appalachia and the Midwest to Native American and Latino traditions. Each chapter begins by discussing the storytellers and their oral traditions before presenting and introducing each tale, making this collection accessible to high school students, general readers or scholars.

Cover Art
Choctaw Tales - Tom Mould (Editor); Chief Phillip Martin (Foreword by)
ISBN: 1578066832
Publication Date: 2004-09-30
Including stories from the 1700s to today, Choctaw Tales showcases the mythic, the legendary and supernatural, the prophecies and histories, the animal fables and jokes that make up the rich and lively Choctaw storytelling tradition. The stories display intelligence, artistry, and creativity as Choctaw narrators, past and present, express and struggle with beliefs, values, humor, and life experiences. Photographs of the storytellers complement the text. For sixteen tales, the Choctaw-language version appears in addition to the English translation. Many of these stories, passed down through generations, address the Choctaw sense of isolation and tension as storytellers confront eternal, historical, and personal questions about the world and its inhabitants. Choctaw Tales, the first book to collect these stories, creates a comprehensive gathering of oral traditions from the Mississippi Band of Choctaw Indians. Each story brings to life the complex and colorful world of the Choctaw tribe and its legend and lore. The shukha anumpa include tall tales, jokes, and stories of rabbit and turtle and bear. The stories of the elders are populated by spirits that bring warnings and messages to the people. As a whole, these tales provide a spectrum of legend and a glimpse of a vibrant, thriving legacy.

Cover Art
Cuentos - Tales from the Hispanic Southwest - Jose Griego y Maestas (Adapted by); Juan B. Rael (Composed by); Rudolfo A. Anaya; Jaime Valdez (Illustrator); Jose Griego Maestas; Rudolfo Anaya
ISBN: 0890131112
Publication Date: 1980-06-01
Witchcraft, magic and events from everyday life provide lively twists to these twenty-three folktales that evoke the rich tradition of the early Spanish settlers. Bilingual Stories in Spanish and English.

Cover Art
Don't Bet on the Prince - Jack D. Zipes
ISBN: 0416013716
Publication Date: 1986-02-01

Cover Art
Every Tongue Got to Confess C - Zora Neale Hurston; Carla Kaplan (Editor); John Edgar Wideman (Foreword by)
ISBN: 0060188936
Publication Date: 2001-11-27
"Imagine the situations in which these speech acts occur. Recall a front stoop, juke joint, funeral, wedding, barbershop, kitchen: the music, noise, communal energy, and release. Dream. Participate the way you do when you allow a song to transport you, all kinds of songs, from hip-hop rap to Bach to Monk, each bearing its different history of sounds and silences." -- From the Foreword by John Edgar Wideman African-American folklore was Zora Neale Hurston's first love. Collected in the late 1920s, Every Tongue Got to Confess is the third volume of folk-tales from the celebrated author of Their Eyes Were Watching God. It is published here for the first time. These hilarious, bittersweet, often saucy folk-tales -- some of which date back to the Civil War -- provide a fascinating, verdant slice of African-American life in the rural South at the turn of the twentieth century. Arranged according to subject -- from God Tales, Preacher Tales, and Devil Tales to Heaven Tales, White-Folk Tales, and Mistaken Identity Tales -- they reveal attitudes about slavery, faith, race relations, family, and romance that have been passed on for generations. They capture the heart and soul of the vital, independent, and creative community that so inspired Zora Neale Hurston. In the foreword, author John Edgar Wideman discusses the impact of Hurston's pioneering effort to preserve the African-American oral tradition and shows readers how to read these folk tales in the historical and literary context that has -- and has not -- changed over the years. And in the introduction, Hurston scholar Carla Kaplan explains how these folk-tales were collected, lost, and found, and examines their profound significance today. In Every Tongue Got to Confess, Zora Neale Hurston records, with uncanny precision, the voices of ordinary people and pays tribute to the richness of Black vernacular -- its crisp self-awareness, singular wit, and improvisational wordplay. These folk-tales reflect the joys and sorrows of the African-American experience, celebrate the redemptive power of storytelling, and showcase the continuous presence in America of an Africanized language that flourishes to this day.


Cover Art
From My People - Daryl Cumber Dance (Editor)
ISBN: 0393047989
Publication Date: 2002-02-01
A magnificent celebration of --and an essential introduction to--African American life and culture. Within the chapter on folk art, which includes a sixteen-page color insert, guilts, dolls, sculpture, and painting get their due. From the famous to the anonymous, From My people is Dance's gift back to her culture.

Cover Art
Great American Folklore - Kemp Plummer Battle; Lois Battle
ISBN: 0385185553
Publication Date: 1986-05-06

Cover Art
Northern Tales - Howard Norman
ISBN: 0394540603
Publication Date: 1990-10-10

Cover Art
Stars Is God's Lanterns - Charles M. Wilson
ISBN: 0806108827
Publication Date: 1970-01-01

Cover Art
Treasury of Afro-American Folklore - Harold Courlander
ISBN: 0517523485
Publication Date: 1981-04-22

Cover Art
Walking the Choctaw Road - Tim Tingle; Norma Howard (Illustrator)
ISBN: 0938317741
Publication Date: 2003-04-01
Oklahoma, or "Okla Homma," is a Choctaw word meaning "Red People." In this collection, acclaimed storyteller Tim Tingle tells the stories of his people, the Choctaw People, the Okla Homma. For years, Tim has collected stories of the old folks, weaving traditional lore with stories from everyday life. Walking the Choctaw Road is a mixture of myth stories, historical accounts passed from generation to generation, and stories of Choctaw people living their lives in the here and now. The Wordcraft Circle of Native American Writers and Storytellers selected Tim as "Contemporary Storyteller Of The Year" for 2001, and in 2002, Tim was the featured storyteller at the National Storyteller Festival in Jonesboro, Tennessee. Tim Tingle lives in Canyon Lake, Texas.

Cover Art
Algonquin Legends - Charles G. Leland
ISBN: 0486269442
Publication Date: 2012-02-29
Classic study of the myths and folklore of the Micmac, Passamaquoddy and Penobscot tribes. Stories of Glooskap, the divinity; Lox, the mischief-maker; At-o-sis, the serpent; Master Rabbit, the Weewillmekq', the Chenoo, many more. Thorough, highly readable, entertaining. 12 black-and-white illustrations. Preface. Introduction.

Cover Art
American Indian Myth and Legends - Richard Erodoes; Alfonso Ortiz
ISBN: 0394507967
Publication Date: 1984-10-12

 

Asian Folklore

Cover Art
Chinese Fairy Tales and Fantasies - Moss Roberts (Editor)
ISBN: 039442039X
Publication Date: 1979-11-01

Cover Art
Japanese Tales - Royall Tyler
ISBN: 0394521900
Publication Date: 1987-04-12
Arranged by themes this is a mammoth collection of folktales that concentrates on those originating in the twelfth through the fourteenth centuries.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip