Welcome to the sheet music collection at McKee Library. We hold solo and small ensemble music for all the common band instruments, which includes the woodwinds (flute, oboe, clarinet, saxophone and bassoon), the brass (trumpet, horn, trombone, euphonium and tuba) and the percussion (bass drum, drum set, multi-percussion, snare drum, marimba and timpani). We also have a small collection of vocal and piano solos.
The collection was given to us by the music department when upgrades were being made to their building. It spans 100 years of wind ensemble music and contains around 6,000 solo titles. Composers from all over the world are featured in the collection, and the music encompasses all levels of playing. We have beginner pieces, as well as college level works.
McKee Library's ultimate goal is to make the collection available to all music students in the 5-state region. We are working on getting judge's copies of all our solos and ensembles for competition. Middle school and high school band directors throughout region will be able to check out pieces for solo and ensemble competitions. Music majors at OPSU will be able to check out the music for juries, competition and recitals.
We hope you will find this collection useful. Any suggestions for additions to the collection will be most welcome.
How Sheet Music Is Organized
Trying to find sheet music in the cabinets can be a little indimidating at first. We are a Library of Congress (LC) library and have to code all of our items with an LC call number. To make life easier for those of us who didn't go to library school, I have organized the cabinets differently. In general, music is separated first by ensemble size (solos, duets, etc.); secondly by whether the music is an individual piece or a group of collected works; thirdly by whether the music is arranged or left in its original configuration; fourthly by composer's, editor's, or arranger's last name; and lastly by title of the piece. Each section is marked off by a hanging folder label, as well as composer's last name, for easier access. Our cabinets are also labeled both at the top of the cabinet and for each drawer. I hope you enjoy our collection.
2/28/2017 - Baritone methods are now available for checkout, as well as alto and bass clarinet solos.
1/12/2017 - Piano, voice, and choir music has moved upstairs.
Number of Pieces in the Library
Sheet music is found under the call number heading M. Library of Congress (LC) has ordered the music first to group size (solo, duets, etc.), then to instrument. Instruments within families that are in different keys are not separated out in this system. We've separated out the instruments within each family as best we can within the limits of the LC system.
|Instrument/Instrument Family||Unaccompanied Solos||Accompanied Solos|
Location of the Collection
UPDATE: The collection is now located on the second floor. Thanks to the football team for hauling the cabinets up the stairs.
The sheet music collection is located in ML 103 with the audio books, records and movies. Location is marked on the map below with a star.
Progress of Cataloguing
Cataloguing the sheet music collection is an ongoing process, and we hope to finish in a timely fashion. Below is a list of what is finished (marked with a ♦).
|unaccompanied solos||♦||accompanied bassoon solo||♦||duets|
|accompanied violin solo||♦||accompanied horn solo||trios|
|accompanied viola solo||♦||accompanied trumpet/cornet solo||quartets|
|accompanied cello solo||♦||accompanied trombone solo||♦||quintets|
|accompanied double bass solo||♦||accompanied tuba solo||♦||sextets|
|accompanied flute/piccolo/recorder solo||accompanied saxophone solo||septets|
|accompanied oboe/English horn solo||accompanied baritone/euphonium solo||♦||octets|
|accompanied clarinet solo||accompanied percussion solo||♦||nonets/choirs|
Other Options in Sheet Music
Sometimes you can't find something to play in music that was written specifically for your instrument, or sometimes there is simply not enough music written for your instrument. The solution could be to look for music written for other instruments. If you can transpose music by sight, all music in your instrument's range is at your disposal. Many of us cannot transpose by sight, but there are other instruments in the same key and clef as your instrument. Below is a chart of clefs, keys and transpositions for the sheet music we carry at McKee. The instrument options are only a suggestion. The suggested instrument ranges do not match perfectly.
|brass||baritone B.C.||bass||C||same as written||trombone, cello, bassoon|
|brass||baritone T.C.||treble||B-flat||major 9th lower than written||bass clarinet, tenor saxophone|
|brass||cornet/trumpet||treble||B-flat||major 2nd lower than written||clarinet, soprano saxophone|
|brass||horn||treble||F||perfect 5th lower than written||English horn|
|brass||trombone||bass, tenor, treble||C||same as written||cello, bassoon, baritone B.C.|
|brass||trumpet||treble||C||same as written||viola, violin, oboe|
||C||same as written||double bass, contrabassoon|
|strings||cello||bass, tenor, treble||C||same as written||cello, bassoon, trombone, baritone B.C.|
|strings||double bass||bass, tenor||C||1 octave lower than written||tuba, contrabassoon|
|strings||viola||alto, treble||C||same as written||trumpet, oboe|
|strings||violin||treble||C||same as written||flute, oboe, trumpet|
|woodwind||bassoon||bass, tenor, treble||C||same as written||cello, trombone, baritone B.C.|
|woodwind||clarinet, alto||treble||E-flat||major 6th lower than written||alto saxophone|
|woodwind||clarinet, bass||treble||B-flat||major 9th lower than written||baritone T.C., tenor saxophone|
|woodwind||clarinet, standard (soprano)||treble||A||minor 3rd lower than written|
|woodwind||clarinet, standard (soprano)||treble||B-flat||major 2nd lower than written||cornet/trumpet, soprano saxophone|
|woodwind||contrabassoon||bass, tenor||C||1 octave lower than written||tuba, double bass|
|woodwind||English horn||treble||F||perfect 5th lower than written||horn|
|woodwind||flute, alto||treble||G||perfect 4th lower than written|
|woodwind||flute, bass||treble||C||1 octave lower than written|
|woodwind||flute, standard (soprano)||treble||C||same as written||violin, oboe|
|woodwind||oboe||treble||C||same as written||trumpet, violin, flute|
|woodwind||piccolo||treble||D-flat||minor 9th higher than written|
|woodwind||piccolo||treble||C||1 octave higher than written|
|woodwind||saxophone, alto||treble||E-flat||major 6th lower than written||alto clarinet|
|woodwind||saxophone, baritone||treble||E-flat||major 6th + 1 octave lower than written|
|woodwind||saxophone, soprano||treble||B-flat||major 2nd lower than written||cornet/trumpet, clarinet|
|woodwind||saxophone, tenor||treble||B-flat||major 9th lower than written||baritone T.C., bass clarinet|
Checking Out Sheet Music
A courtesy card (see below) will be waiting for any band director who wants to check out materials. Normal check out is for two weeks for students, and we can check out music to the band directors for an entire semester.